Radiation Safety Council

The main purpose of the Radiation Safety Council, under the Nuclear Energy Commission, is to safeguard nuclear safety and radiological protection. Its functions are: to advise the Nuclear Energy Commission on the implementation of the state policy on radiation protection and safety, ensure compliance with nuclear and radiation protection and safety legislation, review and amend national norms and regulations, and coordinate measures at the national level in the event of a nuclear or radiological emergency involving the public, mitigation of damage, limitation of proliferation, and remedial action.

The Council is composed of 10 Counselors, including chairman, two advisors, six members, and secretary, appointed from scientists and specialists of radiation protection and safety, experts and professionals of nuclear and radiological emergency experience, representatives of governmental and non-governmental organizations working in the field of radiation protection and safety.